Studio School is a rigorous learning environment driven by the method of Studio Based Learning (SBL). Studio School students learn by designing. In Studio School, learners propose solutions to ambiguous questions, critique those propositions through judgment from self and others, and iterate their proposals in ever more effective designs.

Brocato & Monson, 2007

Hands

Links

Contact

Studio School Project Contacts:
Information on the Studio School project, studio-based learning research, and project management and media

Kay Brocato, Associate Professor, Mississippi State University
KBrocato@colled.msstate.edu

School District Contacts:
Information on the Studio School project in each School District, and participating teachers and students

Darwin Petras, dpreadingteacherms@gmail.com
Yolanda Harris, yharris@oktibeha.12.ms.us
Monica Robinson, mronbinson@noxcnty.k12.ms.us
Di Canizaro, dicanizaro@gmail.com
Alvin Taylor, ataylor@westpoint.k12.ms.us

Family and Community Contacts:
Information on local family and business supporters of Studio School, community participation in development of the Studio School concept, funding support, and resource sharing

Evelyn Bell, Oktibbeha County School District
Joyce Allen, Starkville School District
Terry Kemp, General Manager, Tennessee Valley Authority
tnkemp@tva.gov
David Palmer, Synergetics ML
dpalmer@SynergeticsDCS.com
Paul Luckett, Owner, No Sky Solutions
paul.luckett@ncfpp.org
Kathy Snell, Copy Cow & Snell Brothers, Inc
kathysnell@gmail.com

State Contacts:
Information on Studio School assessment and accountability, curriculum requirements, fiscal and personnel issues

Hank Bounds, Commissioner, Institutions of Higher Learning
commissioner@ihl.state.ms.us
Johnny Franklin, Education Policy Advisor, Governor Haley Barbour's Office
jfranklin@governor.state.ms.us
1-877-405-0733 or 601-359-3150

Regional Contacts:
Information on Appalachian Regional Commission grant support for Studio School

Mike Armour, Director
marmour@mississippi.org

July 28, 2007